Back-to-School Blues

I just dropped another $250 at Staples on school supplies for my two sons, Zack and Jake. I’ve never seen so much plastic in my entire life.  Binders, folders, rulers, protractors, pens, markers, pencil holders and sharpeners, and even the new backpacks were all made of plastic. I couldn’t help chuckling at the hypocrisy of putting all of that plastic in my four canvas bags.  I felt like the guy ordering an In-N-Out double-double, fries and a diet Coke.

I’m not sure why the American Chemistry Council and the petrochemical industry is dropping tens of millions of dollars on opposing all new plastics legislation at the local, state and federal level when they have the entire school supply market for the nation in their pocket. Greed is an ugly and dangerous thing.

Also, none of these plastic products manage to last more than one school year.  Talk about planned obsolescence!  All of the school supplies end up in the waste stream just in time for summer vacation.

Parents out there: Please tell me there is a one-stop shopping alternative to plastic school supplies.  Teachers: Please tell me that those two-page lists of plastic school supply needs are truly needed. I don’t think I can take another end-of-summer supply run.

Bookmark and Share

One Response

  1. Augh! I totally agree, can’t we get this stuff used? I got some of those evidence tablets for the kids to use for notes, they have a 3-hole punch and NO plastic. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

